Kentucky Junior Academy of Science

2018 Annual Meeting
Saturday April 28
Kentucky State University, Frankfort, KY

Registration is now open


Registration deadline is March 20, 2018

Sign up to judge:  KAS Members should Log in and under the Member menu, Click on "Proposal Review" to choose topics and time slots.

Congratulations to all our 2017 participating young scientists!
See 2017 award winners and elected officers below:

2017 Award Winners
Grand Prizes, Group 1
1st: Allison Tu
2nd: Betty Ngo
3rd: Agharnan Gandhi
Grand Prizes, Group 2
1st: Anjali Chadha
2nd: Gregory Schwartz
3rd: NIna Render
All grand prize winners will receive financial support from KAS to attend the American Junior Academy of Science meeting in Austin Texas in February 2018, as Kentucky delegates.
High School Behavioral & Social Science
1st: Betty Ngo
2nd: (team) Sanya and Akash Mehta
3rd: Riya Shah
High School Biological Topics 1
1st: Arushi Gupta
2nd: Ellie Hummel
3rd: (team) Natalie and Naomi Kim
High School Biological Topics 2
1st: Agharnan Gandhi
2nd: (team) David Ma and Amy Wang
3rd: Nivedha Loganathan
High School Biological Topics 3
1st: Allison Tu
2nd: Madison Sneve
3rd: Jennifer Xu
High School Chemistry and Engineering
1st: (team) Ruchira Sumanasekera and Mark Raj
2nd: Joshua Jacob
3rd: Ria Jain
High School Environmental Science
1st: Anjali Chadha
2nd: Will Drury
3rd: (team) Shreshth Srivastava and Karthik Jetty
High School Microbiology and Zoology
1st: Nina Render
2nd: Srikhar Padmanabhan
3rd: Tushar Sharma
Middle School Group 1
1st: Sophia Bryant
2nd: Aliana Conway
3rd: Shreeya Arora
Middle School Group 2
1st: Anne Liang
2nd: Eliza Gallagher
3rd: Henry Dayle
Middle School Group 3
1st: Elaina Render
2nd: Kyle Sanderfer
3rd: (Tie) Charlie Murr and Manya Tiwari

​More photos from 2017 Junior Academy will be posted at

About the Kentucky Junior Academy of Science (KJAS)
The Junior Academy was begun  in the 1930’s to foster an interest in science for high school students in Kentucky.  KJAS eventually expanded to include middle school students. The Junior Academy holds its scientific meeting each April.
Preliminary oral presentations (10 minutes) are conducted during the morning sessions.  The winners of the high school morning sessions make presentations in the afternoon finalist sessions.  Six overall winners are selected and these students are invited to represent Kentucky at the American Junior Academies of Sciences (AJAS) meeting held in February the following year.
The AJAS convention meets in conjugation with NAAS, the National Association of Academies of Science, and AAAS, the American Association for the Advancement of Science. As the world’s largest general science organization and publisher of Science, AAAS has more than 138,000 members and 275 affiliated societies.
The Kentucky Junior Academy of Science is open to ANY middle or high school science student in the state of Kentucky. It offers middle- and high- school student scientists an opportunity to present their research project in the format of a 10 minute presentation with slides. This presentation may be based on research done and presented in a poster format for a science fair.
Students present in the following categories:
  • Behavioral & Social Science
  • Biological Topics
  • Botany
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science & Mathematics
  • Earth & Space Science
  • Engineering
  • Environmental Science
  • Microbiology
  • Physics
  • Zoology
For more details please contact KY Junior Academy Director Ruth Beattie, 859-323-9925,
Presentations are evaluated based on this rubric:  Junior Academy Score sheet
Awards are given in each category, and three overall winning projects are chosen from Life Sciences and Physical Sciences.  The Kentucky Academy of Science provides financial support for these students to participate in the American Junior Academy of Science meeting the following February, as follows: Two first place winning projects receive up to $1000.00 per project; Two Second and two third place winning projects receive up to $750 per project.  Funding will also be available for up to 2 chaperones (no more than one per school), up to a limit of $500/person. (In the case of team projects the amount is to be shared among team members).
2017 Kentucky Junior Academy of Science winners are eligible to be Kentucky’s delegates to the American Junior Academy of Science meeting in Austin TX in 2018.

​Kentucky Junior Academy of Science officers 2017
Co-Presidents – Joshua Jacob, Sophie Lai
Vice President – Jahnaui Sunkara
Secretary – Scott Dues
Co-chairs Ruth Beattie, University of Kentucky and Bruce Griffis, Kentucky State University