Welcome to Murray State

Murray State University welcomes the Kentucky Academy of Science to Murray for its 103rd annual meeting. The westernmost of Kentucky’s regional comprehensive universities is known for its high-quality academic programs and warm hospitality. The university has grown to more than 10,000 students on the main campus in Murray and our regional campuses in Paducah, Hopkinsville, Madisonville, and Henderson.  Many of these students are pursuing degree programs in the Jesse D. Jones College of Science, Engineering and Technology, which is comprised of six academic departments:  Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geosciences, Mathematics and Statistics, Occupational Safety and Health, and the MSU Institute of Engineering.
Our college is proud to showcase the three newest academic buildings on campus, all of which will be on display for conference attendees. The Biological Sciences building was completed in 2007, followed in 2009 by Jesse D. Jones Hall, home of our Department of Chemistry. The Engineering and Physics building opened in 2017. Each facility is equipped with state-of-the art instrumentation and together they provide more than 150,000 square feet of comfortable, modern instructional and research space for faculty and students in those disciplines. They are joined by the Jones Family Clock Tower, a beautiful structure that has already become an iconic part of the Murray State landscape.
In addition to our academic buildings, we are proud to be home to a number of prestigious scientific research centers.  The Watershed Studies Institute, a Commonwealth Center of Excellence, coordinates multidisciplinary research and educational initiatives that focus on water-related ecological systems. Hancock Biological Station (HBS), located less than 20 minutes from the campus on Kentucky Lake, is a year-round teaching and ecosystem research facility where students have unique opportunities to interact with faculty and visiting scientists. The Mapping Applications Resource Center is involved in teaching, research, and service to the region in the fields of remote sensing and GIS. The Chemical Services Laboratory provides analytical and environmental services to individuals, corporations, agencies and other institutions in the mid-south region.
Murray State University is committed to its educational mission in expanding opportunities in the sciences to the citizens of our commonwealth. We are pleased to support the Kentucky Academy of Science as host of this year’s annual meeting, and pledge our continued dedication to the achievement of our mutual goals. Our local arrangements committee has worked to provide the Academy with a comfortable and convenient venue for its meeting. If we can be of any assistance to you, please let us know. Best wishes for an enjoyable and productive meeting.

Steve Cobb, Dean
Murray State University
Jesse D. Jones College of Science, Engineering and Technology